Rto graphic for blog post

Ever wondered how education standards, levels, qualifications, training providers, and the Australian Qualifications Framework work? Here’s our explainer.

Share This Post
AQF Framework Levels

Australia’s education system is governed by the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) standards designed to ensure the quality, integrity and national recognition of qualifications, providing a clear, structured pathway for learners’ educational progression.

The AQF sets out 10 levels of qualifications for post-secondary school. These levels are designed to offer flexibility and cater to various educational and career aspirations and to the evolving needs of Australian education and training.

The AQF is divided into two pathways:

Vocational Education and Training (VET)

Spanning levels 1-8, VET focuses on delivering practical and skills-based training tailored for specific job roles. The VET pathway is designed in partnership for industry, by industry and is aimed at preparing participants for ” job ready” entry into the workforce.

Higher Education

Covering levels 5-10, this pathway is predominantly offered through universities and emphasises theoretical knowledge and analytical skills. Higher Education prepares individuals for professional careers requiring a comprehensive understanding of a particular field.

AQF qualification types in the levels structure

AQF Framework Levels

The AQF ensures that all qualifications, whether in VET or Higher Education, consist of units of competency that together lead to a full qualification, maintaining the relevance and integrity of the framework. It sets specific learning goals at each level, focusing on the acquisition of knowledge, from basic facts to complex concepts, and the development of skills, including creative thinking, technical proficiency, and effective communication. Importantly, the framework assesses how participants apply their knowledge and skills in practical situations, emphasising the ability to work independently, manage responsibility, and adapt to changing circumstances. This structured approach ensures that as participants advance through levels, they are expected to gain a deeper understanding, enhance their skill set, and tackle increasingly complex tasks.

What is an RTO?

Registered Training Organisations (RTOs) are the institutions authorised to deliver VET qualifications within the AQF framework, although due to their popularity with the workforce, Universities can also offer VET qualifications. RTOs play a pivotal role in ensuring that the training provided meets the stringent quality standards set by the AQF and RTOs are subject to regular audits and assessments to maintain their registration, ensuring that they provide education and training that is both compliant to the standards, relevant and of high quality.

For more information the AQF framework, visit: https://www.aqf.edu.au/publication/aqf-second-edition

We're Here To Help Your Business

As an RTO, LDN offers flexibility under the AQF system, offering qualifications from levels 1-8. This allows LDN to serve a wide range of organisations and their people, supporting their journey towards a more highly trained and competent workforce.

Want to find out more?

Call us on 03 9510 0477.